What is the Cooper Tires British F3 International Series ?

British Formula 3 is the leading single-seat championship for drivers wishing to progress their career towards the ultimate goal of a race seat in Formula 1.

Win in British F3 and you are marked as a driver to watch. Around the world, no other race series has produced as many Grand Prix winners and World Champions as British F3. However, it is not  just in F1 that British F3 drivers excel. The British F3 Championship Roll of Honour includes winners of the US Champ Car and IndyCar, Indy 500 and Le Mans 24 Hours titles

To let the driver’s skill come to the fore, all the cars feature either similar technical specifications, with F3 engines producing similar power: around 210 bhp. Current F3 cars offer limited aerodynamic downforce, so that winning comes from a combination of the car’s design, the skill of the driver, and the expertise and professionalism of the team. The final ingredient is the tyres: these are supplied by one manufacturer, Cooper Tires, to restrict teams gaining any grip advantage.

British Formula 3 features chassis from Dallara (Italian), Mygale (French) and Litespeed (British) and engines from Mugen-Honda, Mercedes-Benz and Volkswagon.

Young drivers come to the UK from all over the world to race in British F3 against the best of the current generation of racing drivers. Drivers are coached in the subtleties of car set-up and taught the wisdom of race craft before they move up to the next level, ultimately F1.




25 - 26 May
25 - 27Jul
Spa Belgium  
10 - 11 Aug
Brands Hatch
21 - 22 Sep
Nurburgring Germany



Points Table
Class A
National Class
British F3 International Series Roll of Honour
Current F1 Drivers who have competed in British F3
Jenson Button Mclaren F1 and 2009 F1 World Champion
Sergio Perez 2008 British F3 Nat Class Champion Mclaren F1
Daniel Riccardo 2010 British F3 Champion  Torro Rosso F1 Team
Jean Eric Vergne 2011 British F3 Champion Torro Rosso F1 Team

Lewis Hamilton 2005 F3 Euroseries Champion McLaren  2008 F1 World Champion
Nelson Piquet 2004 F3 Champion Renault F1 Team
Mark Webber F1 race winner with Red Bull Racing
Formula One World Champions who won the British F3 Title
Jim Clark 1960 F3 Champion 1963 and 1965 F1 World Champion
Sir Jackie Stewart 1964 F3 Champion 1969, 1971 and 1973 F1 World Champion
Emmerson Fittipaldi 1969 F3 Champion 1972 and 1974 F1 World Champion
Nelson Piquet 1978 Joint F3 Champion 1981, 1983 and 1987 F1 World Champion  
Ayrton Senna 1983 F3 Champion 1988, 1990 and 1991 F1 World Champion  
Mika Häkkinen 1990 F3 Champion 1998 and 1999 F1 World Champion  
Other famous drivers who are past British F3 competitors
Nigel Mansell 1992 F1 World Champion
Derek Warwick 1978 Joint F3 Champion F1 driver 1992 Le Mans 24 Hours Winner  
Jonathan Palmer 1981 F3 Champion F1 driver and 1983 European F2 Champion
Johnny Herbert 1987 F3 Champion F1 race winner & 1991 Le Mans 24 Hours Winner  
JJ Lehto 1988 F3 Champion F1 driver, 1995 and 2005 Le Mans 24 Hours, 2004 ALMS Champion  
David Brabham 1989 F3 Champion F1 driver 1993/2009 Le Mans 24 Hours Winner  
Rubens Barrichello 1991 F3 Champion F1 race winner
Gil de Ferran 1992 F3 Champion 2000 & 2001 ChampCar World Champion  
Takuma Sato 2001 F3 Champion F1 driver  
Robbie Kerr 2002 F3 Champion Team GB A1GP driver  
David Coulthard F1 race winner
Anthony Davidson F1 driver, 2010 Peugeot Le Mans driver

©2011Litespeed F3 Ltd • Website and logo design by tonic-creative.com & formula3pics.com